FrontDoor
Norfolk Christians seek accommodation solutions  

The latest accommodation requests from the Norfolk Christian community include a teacher seeking mid-week lodgings in Swaffham and a proposed home share in Norwich.

Peter Gray-Read

Christian teacher seeks mid-week accommodation in Swaffham

Peter (pictured right), a Christian secondary school teacher from Great Yarmouth, is seeking a place to stay for two nights a week in or close to Swaffham as he starts a new job teaching at the local high school.  

A member of Gorleston Baptist Church for over 20 years Peter says: “As the new school year starts I am due to start teaching at the Nicholas Hamond High School in Swaffham this week. I will be commuting from near Great Yarmouth, which is too far to be sustainable and the commercial rates for bed and breakfast are excessive.”

A place to lodge mid-week for two nights each week would greatly help Peter as he takes on this new role.  He would be willing to pay around £30 a night for two nights starting as soon as possible.

To contact Peter call 07775 520 113 or email atp2gr@yahoo.co.uk


ShareandCareLogoInnovative Norwich homeshare opportunity with Christian lady

This is an opportunity to become a Homesharer with an elderly Christian lady in a property in NR2, conveniently located for the centre of Norwich.  

Homesharing is a concept where in exchange for very low-cost accommodation, a younger 'Sharer' lives in the home of an elderly person and gives them an agreed level of practical help each week in their spare time, as well as providing the natural friendly companionship that comes from sharing a home.

The accommodation on offer is a single bedroom and private sitting room, which is available from October 9. The shower room and kitchen are shared with the lady. There is a small garden.

In addition to the companionship, the lady would like someone who can give a helping hand washing the dishes, light cleaning/tidying, putting the wheelie bins out and helping with shopping. Cooking isn’t necessarily required, although some shared meals would be enjoyable. Much of the practical housekeeping tasks are things you would do for yourself anyway, wherever you live, and just living there will be enormously beneficial to the lady in terms of having friendly company and conversation.

Caroline Cooke of Share and Care Homeshare which arranges the homeshare opportunities said: “We hope to find a reliable, trustworthy, and friendly, kind Sharer who speaks clear English for easy communication. The elderly lady is good-humoured and would enjoy chats to find out about each other’s days. The lady’s interests include reading, going to church, music and the countryside. We are looking for someone in a settled situation for a long and happy Share. We will only consider female non-smokers.”

If you are interested, please email Caroline at info@shareandcare.co.uk with a little information about yourself, your hours of availability, if you can commit for at least a year, and why you are interested and think you may be suited to this share. You will then receive more details about this specific situation. 

Share and Care Homeshare is a Homeshare agency which specialises in matching Sharers with elderly people.  They charge a monthly facilitation fee of £100.00 + 20% VAT per month for this (£120 per month total). You do not pay rent to the lady on top of this fee although if you are not exempt you will be asked to contribute £25 per month to council tax. 
 

Network Norwich and Norfolk > Directories > Accommodation Directory > Norfolk Christians seek accommodation solutions
Site Search

 Latest News